Senator Lundy wins International Top 10 People Changing the World of Internet and Politics

Monday, October 18th, 2010 @ 2:37PM

Senator Lundy wins International Top 10 People Changing the World of Internet and Politics


Senator Kate Lundy
Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister
Parliamentary Secretary for Immigration and Citizenship
Senator for the A.C.T

Monday 18th October 2010

Labor Senator for the ACT, Kate Lundy has been named the winner of the International Top 10 People Changing the World of Internet and Politics at the 11th World eDemocracy Forum held last week in Issy-les-Moulineaux, (Paris, France).

Senator Lundy was presented with the International eDemocracy Award by French Foreign Minister Bernard Kouchner in recognition of her active and forward-thinking work toward building Open Government culture and practice in Australia. Senator Lundy has been strongly engaged in the Australian Gov 2.0 agenda and has put the principles to work in her own office through her online communications and Public Sphere consultations.

The World eDemocracy Forum is a key global event for eGovernment and Gov 2.0. Senator Lundy’s contribution was short listed from nominations around the world through an online voting process last month, and then was named the winner at the Forum as judged by a panel of experts (see list attached).

“It is an honour to be named the winner of the International Top 10 People changing the World of Internet and Politics at the World eDemocracy Forum in France last week.” Senator Lundy said.

“It was wonderful to have fellow Australia Craig Thomler also make the top 10 list. I think Australia is in many ways leading the world with our Gov 2.0 agenda and our commitment to Open Government, and I believe we will see more exciting and innovation projects in government in the coming years, especially around open data, citizen-centric services and participatory democracy.”

“Finally I want acknowledge and thank everyone who participated in and supported Public Sphere, the World eGov Forum award belongs to us all.”

The Forum also recognised the Australian Government’s commitment to open government stating “With the Government 2.0 Taskforce and the Declaration of Open Government, Australia is one of the most advanced countries in the field of e-administration”.

For Senator Lundy’s brief interview after being named the winner of the International Award, please see:

Senator Lundy accepting her award from Phil Noble, founder and chairman of PoliticsOnline, USA
Senator Lundy accepting her award from
Phil Noble, founder and chairman of PoliticsOnline, USA.


The e-Democracy Awards aim to promote and reward the initiatives which help to change the democratic practices thanks to digital technologies. They comprise of three categories of awards: International, European and National.

Each finalist had 15 minutes to present his/her initiative and answer the questions of the moderator and of the jury members, who rated the candidates and selected the winners via an electronic voting system.

Website links:

The panel included:

  • Laurence ALLARD, semiologist,
  • Philippe BATREAU, CEO of Epistrophe,
  • Olivier BLONDEAU, political scientist,
  • Jean-Charles BOSSARD, CEO of Localeo
  • Elodie BOUIGUES, Ecoter delegation,
  • Ginette BRONCY, Member of the Committee for Sustainable Development of the Economic and Social Council of Grand Paris Sud Ouest
  • Franck CONFINO, Editor of Blog Territorial,
  • Bernard CORBINEAU, Professor at the University of Marne la Vallée,
  • Xavier CORVAL,consultant, project manager
  • Arnault COULET, blog Netpolitique, director of the agency Conversationnel
  • Aexandre DESROUSSEAUX, Project Manager, Nord-Pas-de-Calais region
  • Florence DURAND-TORNARE, General Representative of Villes Internet,
  • David FAYON, author of “Facebook, Twitter and the others”
  • Carmen Beatriz FERNANDEZ, Political Consultant, General Manager of (Venezuela)
  • Dr Julia GLIDDEN, Managing Director of 21c Consultancy
  • Detlev GOETZ, Manager of e-City, Luxembourg, representing the Global Cities Dialogue on Information Society
  • Stéphane GREGOIRE, Project Manager, Forum of Rights on Internet
  • Daniel KAPLAN, General Representative of Fondation Internet Nouvelle Génération
  • Hugo KERSCHOT, General Manager
  • Geoffrey LA ROCCA, Project Leader on New Media, RMC
  • Yannick LANDAIS, General Representative of ARTESI
  • Eric LEGALE, Managing Director of Issy Média
  • André LOECHEL, President of the European Network of Digital Cities
  • Rolf LÜHRS, coordinator of Pan European eParticipation Network (Germany)
  • Csaba MADARASZ, General Representative of “Citizens of Central Europe” (Hungary)
  • Alban MARTIN, author of “Egocracy and Democracy”
  • Sylvie MERCIER, Master of engineering in ICT at the University Paris-Est
  • Phil NOBLE, President of PoliticsOnline (USA)
  • Tiago PEIXOTO, researcher, European University Institute
  • Marko RAKAR, Blogger (Croatia)
  • Michael REMMERT, Project Manager “The future of democracy” at the Council of Europe
  • Tony ROBINSON, Communication officer for the Democrat and Social Group at the European Parliament
  • Daniel ROLEFF, (Germany)
  • Bror SALMELIN, European Commission (Finland)
  • Johanna SCHEPERS, Voice Project (Germany)
  • Christian SCHERER, President of CAWA club
  • Madeleine SÏOSTEEN-THIEL, Program coordinator, Swedish Governmental Agency for Innovation Systems (Vinnova)
  • Baudouin de SONIS, President of e-Forum (Belgium)
  • Virgiliu STAN, Managing Director of Eurado Network (Romania)
  • Claire SZABO, Councillor, City of Issy-les-Moulineaux (France)
  • Benoit THIEULIN, President of Netscouade
  • Sylviane TOPORKOFF, President of the Global Forum
  • Roland TRAUNMÜLLER, Professor at Linz University (Austria)
  • Alexander TRECHSEL, Professor at the European University Institute (Italy)
  • Daniel VAN LERBERGHE, President of Politech Institute (Belgium)
  • Pierre-Marie VIDAL, Editor in chief of “Acteurs Publics” magazine
  • Louis ZACHARILLA, co-founder of the Intelligent Community Forum (USA)
Share this page

    Posted by
    Categories: Media Releases
    Tags: , , , ,

    Comments are closed.